RSS Feed

Piggy Tails

Posted on

So, I woke up late this morning.  I was tired and quite frankly did not want to get out of bed and  go to work.  After a long discussion with myself (Yes, I do talk to myself!), I decided to get up and get going.  I was running a tad late, thanks to the conversation I had in my bed…with myself, so I had to rush a bit.  I was not in the mood to mess with my hair so I decided to put my hair in piggy tails.  Now, I know I am not a child anymore but come on, a girl can wear piggys if she so desires right?  Well, by the time I had been at work for about an hour or so I had to go to the little girls room.  As I stood in front of the mirror washing my hands I looked at the middle-aged woman with grey hair staring back at me.   So I said to myself, “Kara Sawyer, what on earth were you thinking?”

Sometimes I wonder when did life start going by so fast?  When did I go from piggy tails to grey hair?  When did I become a grown up with all this responsibility?  When did I become someone who 4 little girls look up to for guidance on how to be a Godly woman, a wife, a friend and a momma?  Such responsibility is frightening.  With Mother’s Day approaching I have been thinking what makes a mom a good mom?  Does she always look put together?  Does she have a spotless house and a 5 course meal on the table each night?  Does she have perfect children?  Are her children so well-behaved that she never has to raise her voice at them?  Is her laundry always caught up?

If this is what makes a woman a good mom, I am not qualified.  In fact I sometimes leave my house with my hair in piggy tails and sometimes I go to the store in my pajama pants.  My house is NEVER spotless and sometimes I fix Spaghetti-O’s for dinner.  My children are not perfect, sometimes Makensie says things like “I just farted and it was awesome” when we are in public.  I raise my voice at my children on average 5 times a day.  And I have a mountain of laundry in the corner of my room.  But guess what?  I have a God that loves me and chose me to be momma to Julie, Makensie, Abbie and Aubrie.  He trusted me enough that even with my faults and my mistakes He knew that I would raise 4 beautiful young ladies that love God, love their Momma and their Daddy and are growing up to be something great.  I have no doubt that one day they will sit back and look at their family and wonder where did the time go?  Why did God entrust me, Kara Lynn Sawyer, to raise these girls?  Truth is, I don’t know why.  But I do know that when I am weak, He is strong.  And with God on my side, I am the best mom I can be.

Leave a comment