RSS Feed

She’s Growing so Fast

Posted on

14 years ago today I became a momma for the first time.  I know what you are thinking “Kara Sawyer is not old enough to have a 14 year old”, and you are correct.  I’m only 20 years old.  (ha ha ha)   I am not going to lie, it was a LONG road.  I was induced on April 30, 1997 at 6:00am.  At 3:43pm on May 1st, my life was changed forever. No, that is not an error, I was in labor for 33 and 1/2 hours!   Nothing about birthing that child was easy!   I’d always heard that you don’t know true love until you become a parent.  That is so true.  Julie Lynn was beautiful when I first laid eyes on her, and she has gotten more and more beautiful each day since then.

Now, you know me…I’m an honest person, I’m pretty much just a surface level kind of girl.  So, let’s be honest.  Having a newborn baby was no bed of roses.  That child cried from the moment she was born until she turned 12 weeks old.  The only way she would stop crying was for me to lay her on my chest to sleep.  So, for 12 weeks that is how she and I survived.  I have always said I do not wish for my worst enemy to have a baby with colic.  She taught be patience.  She  taught me how to laugh.  She gave meaning to my life.

Today my sweet baby girl turned 14 years old.  That’s two years away from getting her drivers licence (if that doesn’t scare you, something is wrong).  Julie is the best big sister EVER!  When she comes home from a weekend at her dad’s house, her sisters eyes light up.  Julie has the biggest heart.  She loves people.  Julie puts others needs before her own needs.  And I might be a tad biased, but she is a beautiful young lady, on the inside even more than her physical appearance.  Don’t get me wrong, she is a teenage girl….so we have our drama, we have our tears, she is truly a dingy blond, we have our moments that I want to lock her in a closet and not let her out.  But I would not change one thing about my Julie.

So, Happy Birthday Julie Lynn.  You light up my life.  You make me so proud to be your momma.  You make my heart overflow.  I love your guts sweet girl.

Leave a comment